A Belated New Years Memo

15 January 2020

Hi there. Welcome.

Please come in, and take a seat.

Because there’s a lot I have to tell you.

Before I make you a cup of tea, I just wanted to say thank you (!!!!) for coming ‘round to hear me out.

What happened to my leg? Oh well I recently had a ski accident which means I’ve finally been forced to slow down and reflect on this past year and all that happened. If I’m being honest a lot of the experiences I had in 2019 left me either speechless.. or with mountains of things to say – there was no in between. Although I did document my journey through journaling, photography and art, I refrained from sharing much because my feelings and thoughts were crazily inconsistent and ever-changing. 

Despite a rather stressful 24 hours, I feel I am in a good place now to touch on the past and what I have planned for the near future. 

So here’s a rough summary of what this last year entailed for me

  • I au paired in Barcelona for three months and learnt Spanish
  • I travelled the UK for a month, slept on the couches of strangers and in hostels where I happened to meet a lot epic humans
  • I started writing poetry again
  • I learnt how to express emotions instead of repress them
  • I returned to Ireland and lived there for a few months 
  • I loved and was loved
  • I read a lot of books recommended by strangers and the people closest to me. Some favourites are; The Cloud of the Unknowing, Dear Lover, The Four Agreements, The Mastery of Love & Eternal Echoes  
  • I developed confidence in myself thanks to the undying love and support of those around me
  • I attended three animal rights marches (Barcelona, London and Dublin) and inspired a few more friends to go vegan
  • I spent five and half weeks in a Kundalini Yoga community in Rathenow. I experienced many ups and downs whilst living here, developed deeps bounds with likeminded individuals and exchanged stories, art and love
  • I discovered the world of music and wrote songs that were composed by my beloved friend, Camelia 
  • I developed my photography skills (shout out to Maria for her outstanding lessons)
  • I spent 10 days in Berlin, fell in love with the city and decided that I wanted to become a resident
  • I visited friends in the east and south of Germany
  • I celebrated my first Christmas and New Years overseas 
  • I city hopped Europe with my good mate, Chontelle 
  • I visited Auschwitz Concentration Camp in Poland
  • I tried skiing for the first time which was short-lived because a tore a ligament in my left knee
  • and I certainly had other experiences that were equally as impactful and challenging, yet not nearly as dramatic!

“And what did you learn from all this travel, connection, and transformation?” I think I heard you ponder.

Well here’s my list – my list of what I happened to realise/learn in 2019

  • Taking time out for myself to rest/recharge does not require an excuse, explanation or an apology
  • The more open I am, the more open others are inclined to be
  • When wants and needs are communicated truthfully and consciously by both parties in relationship, the game completely changes (in fact, the game just so happens to dissipate)
  • Respect is honouring your own boundaries and the boundaries of others 
  • More questions = less assumptions
  • My intuition is not to be underestimated. It is more powerful than I often acknowledge
  • Everyone is just a reflection of myself at different stages of the journey 
  • Age does not determine emotional intelligence 
  • I can learn more from a single encounter with a person than an entire semester of a subject
  • Mystery is what keeps things alive.. but too much mystery kills the vibe

Oh and here’s my list of what I’ve decided my 2020 is bound to consist of...

  • resting and regaining strength/mobility in my leg
  • settling into my new home and job
  • guided meditations, full moon ceremonies and yoga classes
  • dancing, writing, singing, art and tapping into my creative energy 
  • studying German 
  • living and working in Berlin
  • more love.. giving and receiving
  • developing relationships 
  • weekend trips away
  • conscious living 
  • long walks in nature 
  • returning home to Australia
  • my little sister graduating school
  • and a refined version of myself continuing to emerge.

Anyways..

That’s enough about me.

I’ll get you that cup of tea.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started